KOINONIA Greek Forum Login To Start Posting!
KOINONIA - Greek Forum
Profile | Active Topics | Latest Topics | Latest Replies | Popular
RSS Feed | Partners | Search | AFQ

» Forgot your Password?

All Communities
 The language
 Speaking Greek
 Greek pronunciation
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Registration is closed. The Forum remains available only as a source of published information.

Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

stancu

Romania
2 Posts

Posted - 30 Mar 2006 :  13:44:10  

I am teaching myself Greek, after having completed a systematic distance learning course based on the first 15 Lessons of Gresham Machen's "New Testament Greek:
A Brief Introduction". I am somewhat confident in what I am doing, and yet, almost since I started studying, the problems related to pronounciation are almost as fresh now as they used to be at the beginning.

A good teacher of Greek told me some time ago that there are serious divisions among scholars in this respect and, supposing I could ever be present at an international conference on Ancient Greek, I would here people pronouncing Greek the "French" style, or "American", "Romanian"; "modern Greek", etc. Considering then the various theories of pronounciation (Erasmian, Reuchlinian, modern, etc), the whole picture is not so much of the nature to generate enthusiasm.