KOINONIA Greek Forum Login To Start Posting!
KOINONIA - Greek Forum
Profile | Active Topics | Latest Topics | Latest Replies | Popular
RSS Feed | Partners | Search | AFQ

» Forgot your Password?

All Communities
 The language
 Interpretation
 Philo and the Incarnation of Logos
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Registration is closed. The Forum remains available only as a source of published information.

Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 4

richard

USA
27 Posts

Posted - 12 Dec 2004 :  19:10:31  

To the Commumity,

I am currently studying Philo the Alexandrian Jew, 1st cent. CE, with particular interest in his use the the term LOGOS. I intend to trace the development of this concept from Heraclitus to St. John the Divine through Philo.

I am also interested to note other concepts that resurface among the Eastern Greek Christian Fathers in Philo.

Is anyone else interested in any of this?

I also have a linguistic question, and that is, what dialect of Ancient Greek did Homer use? Also, what Heraclitus?

Sincerely yours,

richard

George

Greece
615 Posts

Posted - 12 Dec 2004 :  21:21:55  

Hi Richard,
For the second part of your message, Homeric epics are writen in the Ionian dialect, mixed with (less) aeolic and (even less) Attic and Arcadian-Cyprian elements.

The first philosophers, including Heraclitus, also wrote in the Ionian dialect.

You are doing an interesting and very difficult research. Best wishes.

George

Go to Top of Page

Aristokles

USA
44 Posts

Posted - 30 Dec 2004 :  03:15:16  

richard,
May I assume that you have discovered that ΛΟΓΟΣ does not mean WORD? If so, good for you! A most interesting approach you are taking with Philo. Is this a Master's or Doctoral thesis? Sounds as if it is. Please keep us posted and I will check some of my sources which are more directed at Hellenistic philosophical terms being used to describe Orthodox Christian ecclesiology.

Go to Top of Page

richard

USA
27 Posts