KOINONIA Greek Forum Login To Start Posting!
KOINONIA - Greek Forum
Profile | Active Topics | Latest Topics | Latest Replies | Popular
RSS Feed | Partners | Search | AFQ

» Forgot your Password?

All Communities
 The language
 Speaking Greek
 Struggling to learn Koine Greek
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Registration is closed. The Forum remains available only as a source of published information.

Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

jamescarvin

USA
2 Posts

Posted - 04 Jul 2009 :  06:31:21  

I am an American who is struggling to learn Koine Greek for Biblical studies and patristics. I am trying to get my keyboard to work right now so I can type in Greek. I could not use the Microsoft language extension technique because it needed my disc and my installation disc drive is broken. I downloaded MultiKey. That gives me a compile error in MS Word so no luck. This is my first attempt to write any Greek using MultiKey over the Internet. Here is a passage I memorized. I can't remember if I have the spelling right.

παρασμοσ υμασ ουκ ελεφεν ει μη ανθροπινοσ πιστοσ δε ο θεοσ ωσ ουκ εασει υμασ περασθινει υπερ ο δυνασται αλλα ποιησει σιν το περεισμου και την εκβασιν του δυνασται υμασ υπινιγκειν.

It worked! That was unicode. Now I've got to figure out how to add in the diacriticals.

Feel free to comment. I'm a beginner. Greek is hard for me. Introduce yourself please!

George

Greece
615 Posts

Posted - 04 Jul 2009 :  14:52:35  

James, the passage you quote (with many mistakes) is from www.ellopos.net/elpenor/greek-texts/new-testament/corinthians_1/10.asp" target="_blank">Paul's 1st epistle to Corinthians (10.13) The text is : πειρασμὸς ὑμᾶς οὐκ εἴληφεν εἰ μὴ ἀνθρώπινος· πιστὸς δὲ ὁ Θεός, ὃς οὐκ ἐάσει ὑμᾶς πειρασθῆναι ὑπὲρ ὃ δύνασθε, ἀλλὰ ποιήσει σὺν τῷ πειρασμῷ καὶ τὴν ἔκβασιν τοῦ δύνασθαι ὑμᾶς ὑπενεγκεῖν.