KOINONIA Greek Forum Login To Start Posting!
KOINONIA - Greek Forum
Profile | Active Topics | Latest Topics | Latest Replies | Popular
RSS Feed | Partners | Search | AFQ

» Forgot your Password?

All Communities
 History, Culture, Society
 Greece before Christ
 Plato's opinion about Salamina War
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Registration is closed. The Forum remains available only as a source of published information.

Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

Bruno

Brazil
4 Posts

Posted - 12 Aug 2008 :  20:08:45  

Dear Elpenor,

First, I'd like to say that I love your site and your initiative to offer all this content. I'm a researcher in ancient thought, especially on Plato's thinking. I'm writting asking you for help. I was reading a book these days about Salamina's war, when the Greeks fought against the Persians. At this book, the author said that Plato thought that this war made the Greeks worse as a community. This opinion sounds very interesting, but the author didn't left any references. I'm doing a research about the concepts of 'Polemos' and 'Stasis' on Plato's thought, and I tried to find his opinions about Salamina's war, but with no success. Do you have any idea of where Plato would state his opinion about the Salamina's war?

Thanks in advance
Bruno

George

Greece
615 Posts

Posted - 13 Aug 2008 :  02:13:06  

Thanks for writing Bruno,

Plato doesn't say that the war made the Greeks worse, but, if I understand well, that having power and prosperity can result to corruption. The war by itself (according to Plato) was good and those who fought should be honoured. Arrogance because of power or other virtues is a human frailty, not the result of the war.

See Menexenus 241-5 and Laws 698-708. Try also a www.ellopos.net/search/search.php?query=Salamis&type=and&results=10&search=1">Plato Search for Salamis.

Go to Top of Page

Bruno

Brazil
4 Posts

Posted - 18 Aug 2008 :  13:13:16  

Thank you for the help, George.