KOINONIA Greek Forum Login To Start Posting!
KOINONIA - Greek Forum
Profile | Active Topics | Latest Topics | Latest Replies | Popular
RSS Feed | Partners | Search | AFQ

» Forgot your Password?

All Communities
 The language
 Speaking Greek
 Learning Greek
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Registration is closed. The Forum remains available only as a source of published information.

Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Pneuma Bibliou

USA
3 Posts

Posted - 27 Oct 2004 :  19:20:47  

Hello. I thought I would post this topic for students of Greek to share tips and help each other. An additional reason is that I need a bit of help myself.

I am a student who has just completed a first-year Greek grammar of the New Testament. Not having a teacher, I taught the grammar to myself, and I suppose that any other Greek that I learn will be self-taught too. I would like to move on to the classics, and become proficient in Greek. Do any of you know how I should continue my studying? Should I pick a book and delve in, or try to find some lessons? I like some of the books on Textkit, especially the First Greek Writer and the Homeric reader, but I prefer learning from something in print. Does anyone have a suggestion?

George

Greece
615 Posts

Posted - 27 Oct 2004 :  20:57:58  

You can try both, work alone on the Iliad or Odyssey, and use lessons. For the second option (or part) of your study, I suggest www.ellopos.net/elpenor/lessons/pharr.asp">Pharr’s Homeric Greek – a book for beginners. At the address above, you can read parts of Pharr’s prologue on why Homer is the best start, you will find links to download the full first edition of the book in pdf format, or buy in print the revised edition.